Put this in your pipe and smoke it Colorado, because you aren’t getting married without first attending state-mandated, premarital education classes – at least if the same voters who legalized weed will now allow in such a big-government proposal.
According to the proposed initiative, which will require 86,105 signatures to place the issue on the November ballot, the Denver Post reported, first-time couples wanting to wed would be required to attend 10-hours of “marriage education,” second-time couples 20-hours, and if it’s your third trip down the proverbial aisle, 30-hours of state-mandated class time to figure out what it takes to stay married.
However, “a re-marrying widow would be held to the same standard as a first-timer [and] the law would not apply to civil unions,” the article said. These classes would be in addition to classes some churches already require of couple’s preparing for marriage.
Liberal Colorado was chosen to be the first state to attempt the proposed “Colorado Marriage Education Act,” but the California group behind the initiative plans to bring it to many states soon.
Proponents David Schel and Sharon Tekolian of California-based Kids Against Divorce say the intended purpose of the act is to “better prepare individuals going into marriage to fulfill their new roles as spouse and potentially as parent, to furthermore protect children given that marriage is the foundation of a family unit.”
As proposed, the prenuptial curriculum would be created and overseen by the Colorado State Board of Marriage and Family Therapist Examiners. The board would then validate completion and issue a “Marriage Course Completion Certificate.” The couple would pay the cost associated with the education.
The initiative also includes a tax cut for couples who voluntarily complete continuing marriage education each year to “reduce the billions of dollars taxpayers spend annually on divorce.”
Let the debate begin.
Attorneys Arthur Aidala and Jonna Spilbor joined Fox News’ Gretchen Carlson Wednesday to discuss the pros and cons of a state ordering couples to attend pre-wedding education classes. Consider that the divorce rate in the United States is reportedly near 60 percent.
Aidala explained the reason the classes would be state mandated is because states spend a lot of taxpayer dollars on the courts that handle divorces and perhaps such classes could prevent some couples from divorcing.
However, Spilbor, a divorcee herself, said no way: “This type of training” is “useless and illegal.”
Watch the segment, then share your opinion in the comment section.
Oops! We could not locate your form.
DONATE TO BIZPAC REVIEW
Please help us! If you are fed up with letting radical big tech execs, phony fact-checkers, tyrannical liberals and a lying mainstream media have unprecedented power over your news please consider making a donation to BPR to help us fight them. Now is the time. Truth has never been more critical!
We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, profanity, vulgarity, doxing, or discourteous behavior. If a comment is spam, instead of replying to it please click the ∨ icon below and to the right of that comment. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain fruitful conversation.