Who qualified, who didn’t

The ballot is set for the upcoming elections, with many candidates running in different districts due to redistricting, but few surprises arose at the end of today’s filing deadline. The period for candidates to pay their fees and officially qualify to run began at noon Monday and ended at noon today.

The Florida Senate District 34 race pits two sitting senators against each other — Republican Ellyn Bogdanoff and Democrat Maria Sachs. State Senate District 27, now an open seat, has drawn two House members looking to move up. Reps. Mack Bernard and Jeff Clemens, both Democrats, have left their House seats for a shot at the Senate. With the late addition of a write-in candidate, there will not be an “open primary,” where all registered voters would have participated in the August election as long as no candidates from other parties had filed.

The Senate seat formerly held by Lizbeth Benacquisto in District 27 had stretched across the state to the west coast. Boundary changes have moved her to the western counties, leaving the new district comprising parts of Palm Beach and Broward counties. Democrat Rep. Joe Abruzzo will face one of two Republican newcomers, Melanie Peterson or Geoffrey Sommers, in the new district.

Prolific fundraiser Sen. Joe Negron drew a late challenger in Democrat Ray D’Amiano. Negron has amassed a campaign war chest of over $400,000 and has already begun running TV ads.

Former Rep. Kevin Rader, who had filed to run in Senate District 27, made an 11th-hour switch to run in House District 81, where he will face incumbent Democrat Steve Perman and Republican challenger James Ryan O’Hara.

House District 82, formerly held by Rep. William Snyder, has drawn the most candidates of all the House races, with five Republicans running, including former Rep. Carl Domino, who faced term limits in his previous seat. Businesswoman MaryLynn Magar is leading all the District 82 candidates in fundraising, with nearly $40,000 collected so far.

Rep. Bill Hager will face late-filing Democratic candidate Pamela Goodman in District 89. The only House candidate to have a free ride with no opposition is Rep. Irv Slosberg, running in heavily Democratic District 91.

All constitutional offices will be on the ballot this year, except Public Defender Carey Haughout, who was re-elected without opposition. The sheriff, supervisor of elections, clerk of court, state attorney and tax collector all drew opponents.

County Commission Districts 1 and 5 are competitive due to the departure of term-limited Commissioners Karen Marcus and Burt Aaronson, while Commissioner Priscilla Taylor was re-elected without opposition. Comissioner Shelley Vana drew a late challenge from perennial candidate Clifford Montross.

With School Board Member Monroe Benaim not seeking re-election, his District 1 seat has attracted six candidates, while board members Chuck Shaw and Frank Barbieri are unopposed.

List of Qualified Candidates:

State Senator, Dist. 25

Joseph Abruzzo (I-HD85), DEM

Melanie Peterson, REP

Geoff Sommers, REP

State Senator, Dist. 27

Mack Bernard (I-HD84), DEM

Jeff Clemens (I-HD89), DEM

Travis Genard Harris, WRI

State Senator, Dist. 32

Ray D’Amiano, DEM

Joe Negron (I), REP

State Senator, Dist. 34

Ellyn Bogdanoff (I), REP

Mike Lameyer, REP

Maria Sachs (I), DEM

State Representative, Dist. 81

James Ryan O’Hara, REP

Steve Perman (I), DEM

Kevin Rader, DEM

State Representative, Dist. 82

Carl J. Domino, REP

Beverly Joy Hires, WRI

MaryLynn Magar, REP

Jonathan W. Milton, REP

Jonathan W. Pasqualone, REP

Calvin D. Turnquest, REP

State Representative, Dist. 85

David Lutrin, DEM

Pat Rooney Jr. (I), REP

State Representative, Dist. 86

Tami L. Donnally, REP

Mark Pafford (I), DEM

State Representative, Dist. 87

David Kerner, DEM

Mike Rios, DEM

State Representative, Dist. 88

Charles Bantel, DEM

Evelyn T. Garcia, DEM

Bobby Powell Jr., DEM

Nikasha M. Wells, DEM

State Representative, Dist. 89

Pamela Goodman, DEM

Bill Hager (I), REP

State Representative, Dist. 90

Lori Berman (I), DEM

Sean Michael Kasper, REP

State Representative, Dist. 91

Irving ‘Irv’ Slosberg (I), DEM

Property Appraiser

Gary R. Nikolits (I), NPA

Charles Henry Stahman, NPA

Robert S. Weinroth, NPA


Ric L. Bradshaw (I), NPA

Kevin Patrick Coleman, NPA

Joe Talley, NPA

Cleamond Lee Walker, NPA

Supervisor of Elections

Susan Bucher (I), NPA

Maxo Marc, NPA

Nelson S. McDuffie, NPA

Caneste Succe, NPA

Clerk & Comptroller

Sharon R. Bock(I), DEM

Lisa Epstein, DEM

Public Defender

Carey S. Haughwout (I), DEM

State Attorney

Dave Aronberg, DEM

Robert Gershman, NPA

Dina A. Keever, REP

Tax Collector

Peter Carney, DEM

Anne M. Gannon (I), DEM

Allison R. Schuler, WRI

County Commissioner, Dist. 1

Daniel Amero, REP

Harry Gaboian, REP

David J. Levy, DEM

Hal Robert Valeche, REP

County Commissioner, Dist. 3

Cliff John Montross, REP

Shelley Vana, DEM

County Commissioner, Dist. 5

Mary Louise Berger, DEM

Steven H. Meyer, DEM

Rick Mark Neuhoff, DEM

Paul Tocker, REP

County Commissioner, Dist. 7

Priscilla Taylor (I), DEM

School Board, Dist. 1

Kenneth Beer, NPA

Robert Bittenbinder, NPA

Michael F. Howard, NPA

Christine Jax, NPA

Lowell E. Levine, NPA

Michael J. Murgio, NPA

School Board, Dist. 2

Charles E. Shaw (I), NPA

School Board, Dist. 5

Frank A. Barbieri, Jr. (I), NPA

Port of Palm Beach Group 1

Joseph D. Anderson, DEM

George Allan Black Jr., REP

Terence Dayron Davis, WRI

Tracey Ingrid Powell, WRI

Wayne M. Richards (I), DEM

Port of Palm Beach Group 2

George E. Mastics (I), DEM

Port of Palm Beach Group 3

Jean L. Enright (I), DEM

Ruby H. Landfair, WRI


Please help us! If you are fed up with letting radical big tech execs, phony fact-checkers, tyrannical liberals and a lying mainstream media have unprecedented power over your news please consider making a donation to BPR to help us fight them. Now is the time. Truth has never been more critical!

Success! Thank you for donating. Please share BPR content to help combat the lies.


We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, profanity, vulgarity, doxing, or discourteous behavior. If a comment is spam, instead of replying to it please click the ∨ icon below and to the right of that comment. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain fruitful conversation.

PLEASE JOIN OUR NEW COMMENT SYSTEM! We love hearing from our readers and invite you to join us for feedback and great conversation. If you've commented with us before, we'll need you to re-input your email address for this. The public will not see it and we do not share it.

Latest Articles